– Click on the image to enlarge or purchase –
Washington County Courthouse in Abingdon, Virginia was built in 1869. It is the fifth building to serve as a courthouse for the county since it was established on December 7, 1776. Washington County was named for George Washington before he was elected President and is the first locality in the United States know to be named in his honor.
The previous courthouse to occupy this site was built in 1850. It was burnt to the ground by Union Troops during the Civil War in December 1864. The current building boasts as being the only new courthouse built during reconstruction. The building dominates the skyline of central Abingdon with its four Doric columns and two-section Italianate tower. It is believed the architects of the current building based their design on the 1850 courthouse which was designed by Herbert Ledbetter and William Fields.
The building is central to and a contributing building in the Abingdon Historic District, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in February 1970. The original boundaries were extended in September 1986. Also included within the original boundaries is the Barter Theatre.