– Click on the image to enlarge or purchase –
Nanjemoy Baptist Church is one of the oldest continuously used Baptist churches in Maryland. Its history is unique in that it is the mother of the Southern Baptist churches in the Tri-County area of Maryland. As early as 1790, four men from Virginia crossed the Potomac and started to preach in Nanjemoy. These men, William Fristoe, Jeremiah Moore, Andrew Leach, and Henry Hagen, were often personally insulted and abused, but they continued to preach and the congregation continued to grow. In 1791, one acre of land was purchased for the purpose of building a meeting house. All evidence supports the belief that this is the building being used today. Through the years, the membership has increased and many improvements and additions have been made.
Click here for some more images of historic Charles County.